journeytocreate

Pieces of my art journal

Posted on: June 12, 2012

I’ve been using one of my journals mostly to try different techniques and just having fun.  I haven’t really written on any pages and don’t know if I will.   Maybe, maybe not.  We’ll see.

These are the first two pages in the journal.  Yes, they’re kind of ugly.  I was basically using these pages as a place to put extra paint left at the end of a session.  I doubt these will stay like this.  They’ll progress and I can’t wait to see what they turn into.

These pages are from one of the classes in last year’s 21 Secrets.  It was about mandalas.  I don’t totally love this page, but it was fun to design.

The page on the left just has a layer of some yellow and orange paint.  On the right, this page was also from a class in last year’s 21 Secrets.  The paint was applied with a gift card and there is also a layer of molding paste on the page to give it texture.  The center section does not have texture and leaves you with a place to write if you’re inclined.

This is my favorite spread in the art journal.

Here’s a closer look at the right side.  The technique is achieved by painting two different colors of acrylic paint on the page and then placing a stencil over it.  Then you take a baby wipe (yes, a baby wipe) and remove the paint through the stencil.  I love the misty, hazy look of the page.  In the original demo where I saw this done, you started with putting gesso on the page before painting the acrylics.  I did not do that here and I’m still very happy with how it looks.

This is just a repeated stencil that I moved around the page till it was covered.  I used a makeup sponge to apply the paint.

Here I tried to repeat the stencil technique.  But I altered it by putting down a layer of copper acrylic, let that dry, put down a layer of clear gesso, and then the two other colors on top.  And then the baby wipe again.  Unfortunately I don’t think I let the gesso dry enough and the baby wipe pulled up the copper paint as well.  But I still like it.

This was just me playing with some watercolor crayons and a stamp one night.

This is from one of this year’s 21 Secret classes.  I wish I could remember the name of the class and who was teaching it, but I don’t.  I’ll have to go look that up.  This is just the beginning of the page, I haven’t gone back to add additional layers.  The paint was applied with a palette knife and then we were supposed to look for shapes in the paint and start outlining them.

Okay, well that’s all for now from my art journal 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Nichole: thank you so much for the card! I got the Margaret Atwood one....which i love because she was one of my favorite authors i read in college!
  • Kimber: Great postcards! Love the variety of styles!
  • Carlin: I am the recipient of the non-pictured card! Using all different techniques is a great idea. I don't know that I could have managed it. I love how all
