journeytocreate

Making a journal from something you already have

Posted on: April 4, 2011

So I’ve been really interested in book binding and making my own journals and have been reading lots of books about repurposing other books to make journals.  A couple weeks ago at work, I found a year planner that we had each been given by our company before the beginning of the year.  It was boring and ugly and I would never use it.  So I started to think about how I could transform it.

Here’s the planner and the ugly brown shiny cover.  I took some electrical tape and in horizontal stripes, I covered it.

Here it is covered.  Eventually I might go back and add some collage elements to the cover, but for now I like the black tape.

Then I took some gesso to cover the writing on the first page, but left the year.  I put down a couple more coats after this so that the text has basically disappeared.  I’ve also gone through on some of the other pages and either laid down gesso or glued on different papers (cardstock or decorative papers) to cover up the month squares.   I’m excited to use this journal.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Nichole: thank you so much for the card! I got the Margaret Atwood one....which i love because she was one of my favorite authors i read in college!
  • Kimber: Great postcards! Love the variety of styles!
  • Carlin: I am the recipient of the non-pictured card! Using all different techniques is a great idea. I don't know that I could have managed it. I love how all
