journeytocreate

Update on what I’m doing

Posted on: March 30, 2011

So I’ve been working away on a couple of projects but haven’t been able to upload any pictures.  And no pictures tonight because I’ll be at a meeting for most of the evening.  The two things I’ve been working on are transforming a regular year planner into a journal and then 10 postcards for a swap.

I have 5 (maybe) of the postcards done or at least started.  Probably only 2, I can truly say are complete.  The other are in various stages.  For the first time, I decided to try doing an image transfer using gel medium.  Yeah, that so didn’t work.  Of course, I was going by the directions in one book on the technique and those directions were completely different than those in another book.  I think I trust the directions in the other book more and we’ll give those a shot tonight.

I also had the opportunity over the weekend to attend a demo at Daniel Smith Art Supplies by Barbara De Pirro, which was all about Golden Products.  It was fantastic and a total information overload.  We even got samples!  Last night I played with the three acrylic paints we were given.  I can really see how much fun acrylics are going to be to use.  I’m also signed up for an acrylics class at Daniel Smith in May (thank you Groupon!).

Pictures and more projects to come soon….

1 Response to "Update on what I’m doing"

Just got my postcard today – love the papers and colors!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Nichole: thank you so much for the card! I got the Margaret Atwood one....which i love because she was one of my favorite authors i read in college!
  • Kimber: Great postcards! Love the variety of styles!
  • Carlin: I am the recipient of the non-pictured card! Using all different techniques is a great idea. I don't know that I could have managed it. I love how all
