journeytocreate

Bookmark swap

Posted on: March 17, 2011

One of the swaps I’m participating in this month is a bookmark swap – 2 for 2.  You send off two and receive two in return.  I actually sent three and each one was done with different materials and styles.

Left side – This was actually cut from a full-size piece of watercolor paper.  Another time when I had been messing around with my watercolors, I didn’t want to waste the paint left on the palette.  So I took a wedge make-up applicator and stamped the leftover paint all over this piece of paper.  I like the color combination and the abstractness of it.

Middle – I love to zentangle, so of course one of the bookmarks to incorporate it.  This was done just with a pencil (for making the ‘string’ and shading) and a Sakura Pigma Micron 01.

Right – I have a book called Drawing Lab for Mixed Media Artists: 52 Exercises to Make Drawing Fun by Carla Sonheim.  One of the exercises is for drawing faces.  So I took the basics of the lesson and drew this gal with her stack of books at the bottom.  I thought of doing something where it was covered in books with just her face peeking out from behind, but I didn’t have any ephemera of books that I could use.

I hope whoever gets these bookmarks enjoys them and I look forward to receiving some in return.

1 Response to "Bookmark swap"

It’s good to see the different types of art you have incorporated into your bookmarks. It’s a good idea for using up leftover paint!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Nichole: thank you so much for the card! I got the Margaret Atwood one....which i love because she was one of my favorite authors i read in college!
  • Kimber: Great postcards! Love the variety of styles!
  • Carlin: I am the recipient of the non-pictured card! Using all different techniques is a great idea. I don't know that I could have managed it. I love how all
